Château Latour is located in the heart of the Médoc wine region, about 50km northwest of Bordeaux, where the legend of the Bordeaux vineyard was created. The heart of its terroir, l'Enclos, overlooks the Gironde estuary, a river that has given it its geological complexity over the centuries and transmits its mild climate every day. Since 1993 and under the impetus of the Pinault family, owners of the estate, important changes have been made over the years to pursue the quest for excellence in the wines produced by Château Latour.

MILLENNIUM 2012

The 2012 vintage was rather late with significant spring rainfall, followed by a dry weather phase. The winter was characterised by a significant water deficit and mild temperatures - above 20°C during the month of March - except for the very cold first half of February. The budburst was noted on April 3, a particularly rainy month. June was wet and mild. During July and August, the weather was dry and mid-veraison was noted on 14 August. These dry and moderately warm conditions ensured slow and optimal berry growth, allowing the aromatic complexity of the fruit to be preserved, as well as a very nice tension in the mouth.

HARVESTING

The harvest began on 24 September and ended on 16 October. In spite of a rainy episode during the harvest, the grapes returned to the vats were in good condition thanks to the reactivity of our teams and to a careful sorting.

ASSEMBLY

90.2% cabernet sauvignon, 9.6% merlot, 0.2% petit verdot.

TASTING COMMENT

Nose of great delicacy, pure and ripe, of fruit and spices. Velvety mouth, of great intensity and remarkable elegance, carried by silky tannins of great finesse.

Château Latour est situé au coeur du Médoc viticole, à environ 50km au nord-ouest de Bordeaux, où s’est créée la légende du vignoble Bordelais. Le coeur de son terroir, l’Enclos, domine l’estuaire de la Gironde, fleuve qui lui a apporté au fil des siècles sa complexité géologique et lui transmet chaque jour sa douceur climatique. Depuis 1993 et sous l’impulsion de la famille Pinault, propriétaire du domaine, d’importants changements ont été effectués au fil des années visant à poursuivre la quête de l’excellence des vins produits par le Château Latour.

MILLÉSIME 2012

Le millésime 2012 fut plutôt tardif avec des précipitations printanières notables, suivies par une phase météorologique sèche. L’hiver se caractérisa par un important déficit hydrique et des températures douces – au-dessus de 20°C durant le mois de mars – hormis durant la très froide première quinzaine de février. Le débourrement fut noté le 3 avril, mois particulièrement pluvieux. Le mois de juin fut quant à lui humide et doux. Au cours des mois de juillet et août, le temps fut sec et la mi-véraison fut notée le 14 août. Ces conditions sèches et modérément chaudes, assurèrent une croissance lente et optimale des baies, permettant de conserver tant la complexité aromatique du fruit qu’une très belle tension en bouche.

VENDANGES

Les vendanges débutèrent le 24 septembre et se terminèrent le 16 octobre. Malgré un épisode pluvieux durant les vendanges, les baies rentrées en cuve se présentèrent dans de belles conditions grâce à la réactivité de nos équipes et à un tri appliqué.

ASSEMBLAGE

90,2% cabernet sauvignon, 9,6% merlot, 0,2% petit verdot.

COMMENTAIRE DE DÉGUSTATION

Nez d’une grande délicatesse, pur et mûr, de fruits et d’épices. Bouche veloutée, de grande intensité et d’une élégance remarquable portée par des tanins soyeux et d’une très grande finesse.